How did this happen?

Italy was a surprise.

I’d wanted to live in another country for decades but never imagined I would have the chance. After a rather devastating shift in my health that left me unable to drive, I needed to move to a place where I could walk to things, and where public transit was actually useful. I thought that place would be Seattle, a city I’ve loved for over thirty years.

During the summer of 2012, I couch-surfed across Europe to visit friends and ended my visit in the north of Italy, staying with my brother. Italy was an easy country to fall in love with. I thought I’d love to go back and spend a few months there exploring and seeing more of it. Early in 2013, my health took a turn for the weird and I knew I could no longer live in the home I’d had for nearly ten years. When I realized I would have to sell my apartment in Everett, Washington and move elsewhere I thought, “Why not try to move to Italy?” In October of 2013, I was granted a residence visa and I’m moving to northern Italy in mid-December.

This blog is the story of how it happened.

4 thoughts on “How did this happen?

  1. Your poem moved me. I will follow your adventure in transition with great interest. I, too, live on the Salish Sea, and also love Italy. Cannot conceive of making such a change, however.
    Nukesafe

    • Thank you. My leaving is bringing up so many mixed feelings. I knew that it would. I really do love this place, but I have also always felt the call of other places and have wanted for most of my life to live outside the US. Getting the chance is something I never expected, but I’m no fool – I’m grabbing it and hanging on fiercely.

      I can’t wait to get on the plane, but I’m also going to miss everyone here very much. I’m at the point where everything is fraught with frustration due to being neither quite here nor yet there. Life is, of course, full of this feeling of suspension. I’m trying to just live in the moment as it all happens.

Leave a Reply

