Empty of worrying

Be empty of worrying.
Think who created thought!

Why do you stay in prison
when the door is so wide open?

~Rumi

This afternoon the last of my possessions departed. A couple of pleasant, efficient men showed up with a truck and inventoried, boxed, and hauled away everything I own except what’s in the bags I’m taking on a plane, and soon those boxes will be sailing across the eastern ocean en route to Italy, most likely by way of the UK. It took about two hours. I closed out my account with the storage facility, my heart finally light, as this was the last thing I had to do before I get on the plane on Thursday.

I am empty of worrying, and the door is wide open.

This is a rare state of affairs for me. I’m prone to worry, after all, and to anxiety about all manner of things that are beyond my control. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll be worrying again, though I hope that won’t happen for at least a few days. It’s nice to be free of that weight for a while, to just breathe easily and know that everything that must be done has been.

It felt good to watch as the stacks of boxes disappeared, smaller boxes of fragile items put into larger ones to make them safer to ship, and that last load taken from my storage unit out to the truck and loaded. Papers were signed. I was given a copy of the inventory.

Caera and I walked in the cold from the storage place behind Cal Anderson park over to Elliott Bay Books to have a little lunch with Irene and warm up a bit.

Tomorrow I’ll stay here at Caera’s for my last night; Thursday morning very early I’ll have to be up and ready to head out to Seatac to get on a plane. I don’t usually sleep well before I travel, particularly not when I have to travel far. The trip will be about eighteen hours from takeoff out of Seatac to landing at Marco Polo in Venice. I can only hope I’ll be able to sleep between Chicago and Madrid, where I transfer again to Italy.

I’ll likely post from the airport – one of them anyway – on my way out, and again sometime soon after I arrive in Italy, just to assure all my friends that I’ve landed safely.

One more day.

6 thoughts on “Empty of worrying

  1. Even though I’ve prepared and been adequately notified and such, this really crept up! Crikey! You’re leaving tomorrow! AAAAAAAHHH!!! 😉

    It’s interesting that the airport is called “Marco Polo.” In a way, you’re kind of doing a Marco Polo of your own, starting from further west and not going as far east, but nonetheless you’re going about the same distance, ultimately…

    I suspect you’ll get to see The Hobbit sooner than I will…I’m thinking more about that, and other things, than the very stressful tasks before me at present, i.e. grading. I’m in some strange way rather envious, as you’re not the only good friend and co-religionist that is making a major move, or has made one in the last few months…I’d like to be making a certain major move in a southerly direction at present for a better job. Hopefully in the next eight months, that might come about…

    In any case, we shall raise a glass to you tomorrow night at the first “official” function of the Pagan Student Union as we have our dinner and as you are winging your way toward your destination!

    • Thank you, my friend! Yeah, it’s crept up on me as well. This whole thing still feels surreal. Tomorrow at this time I’ll be on my way to Chicago for my first transfer. I’ll miss you.

      Take care of yourself, and I’ll see you again when I’m able.

  2. May the path you’ve embarked upon enrich your life in all the ways you’ve hope for! May the warm climate ease your aches; may your dollars stretch farther so that you can thrive; and may the magic of the place feed your creativity. Goddess Bless you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

